Boy Scout Camp or Bust!

Tomorrow I will be off to Boy Scout camp with the baby of our family, our 12 year old son.  He’s finishing up his first year in Boy Scouts, and I volunteered to go along as a parent helper.  Our son gets to camp for an entire week, and I am only going for part of the week; another mom is arriving at the camp on Wednesday and she’ll take over as parent volunteer, which means I can drive home and take a hot shower and sleep in my own bed!

I know I will do some bird watching, and I am hoping to pick out some constellations in the nighttime skies.  One day of rain is predicted, 60% chance on Monday, but we’ve got our rain ponchos, so we’re ready.  Bug spray, sunscreen, aloe vera gel, bandaids, water bottles, backpacks, the Boy Scout Handbook, and a myriad of games are set to be packed and hauled to camp.  I hope to sneak along some reading material too, and can’t forget my flashlight and camp chair!

Until I get back, I will be in the land of very spotty cell phone service, and no internet, so my blog will be very quiet until I get back.  Then I will be busy writing for 3 different classic movie blogathons, and I do plan on sharing one post about my adventures at camp.  Before I sign off, I  thought I’d leave you with some wonderful paintings American artist Norman Rockwell did for the BSA through the years.  He became their official portrait painter for his covers of Boys Life magazine.  Enjoy these pictures he painted!

Scout saving a child

The Scout Oath

The Scout Oath

Rockwell painted himself standing with a group of boy scouts.

Rockwell painted himself standing with a group of boy scouts.

Rockwell painted this in 1963 for the World Boy Scout Jamboree, held in Greece that year.  Scouting isn't strictly  an American endeavor.  It began in England, in 1908.

Rockwell painted this in 1963 for the World Boy Scout Jamboree, held in Greece that year. Scouting isn’t strictly an American endeavor. It began in England, in 1908.

scouts preparing to hike

Scouts helping a dog

Fun cover-Scouts helping Santa!

Fun cover-Scouts helping Santa!

Helping a Cub Scout learn to tie specific knots

Helping a Cub Scout learn to tie specific knots

Receiving the Eagle Scout pin

Receiving the Eagle Scout pin

Scout and the flag

Leave a Reply

